About The Gator

The Gator is the official student news site of Brimmer and May School, an independent, pre-K-12 school located in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. Brimmer and May is accredited by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC) and is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), which in 2011 designated Brimmer and May as a “School of the Future.” In addition, it is a member of the Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE), Coalition of Essential Schools (CES), the Independent Curriculum Group (ICG), and the National Center for Independent School Renewal (NCISR).

Mission statement

The Gator aims to engage and inform the wider community, while embracing new and emerging 21st cenutry communication tools. All the while, we are fully committed to honoring and honing time-tested journalism skills.


We strive for accurate, in-depth journalism, but mistakes happen—even at The New York Times. Please contact the newsroom if you notice errors that warrant correcting. We will review your message and, if appropriate, make the correction and note the change at the bottom of the post.

Editorial policy

The newsroom retains complete and independent control over all content and editorial decisions. Readers are encouraged to submit questions, concerns, or comments, which The Gator may publish.

News writers are not involved in the writing, production, or editing of any editorials, which do not necessarily reflect the viewpoints of the entire newsroom. The editorial board—save for the news editor—manages all aspects of the editorial writing process. This helps to ensure a productive and ethical newsroom. Moreover, to foster credibility, news writers are not allowed to write opinion pieces about the School or School-related events.

Fall 2019 Staff

Caroline Champa '20
Outside of being editor, Caroline enjoys AP Computer Science. When she isn't studying, she can be found on the tennis court and playing with her French Bulldog, Anna. 
Camille Cherney '20
When she's not editing stories, Camille enjoys playing tennis, baking, and singing. She loves being a student journalist because she can amplify her voice beyond the classroom.
Miles Munkacy '20
Executive Editor
Karly Hamilton '21
Managing. Editor
Karly has been at Brimmer since fourth grade. Some of her favorite classes include Neuropsychology and AP Calculus. When she is not in the newsroom, she can often be found baking, skiing, or playing with her cat.
Sophia Spring '22
Multimedia Manager
Zoe Kaplan '21
Zoe's favorite subject is English, and she loves to read. Outside of the newsroom, she loves to sing and hang out with friends
Nate Suraci '21
Dessie Bell-Kaman '20
News, Photography
Brian Gamble '23
Brian enjoys playing lacrosse, running, and hanging out with his friends. He is excited about joining the newsroom and writing exciting stories.
Haleigh Jacobs '23
Gator Nation News
Charles McLaughlin '22
Jennifer Ngo '22
Grace Papas '23
When Grace isn’t working on anything or studying, she enjoys reading, playing chess, drawing, and listening to music and/or crime podcasts.
Edan Zinn '23
News, Photography
Edan has been at Brimmer since Pre-K. When he’s not taking photos or writing for The Gator, he’s singing in Greenline, in rehearsal for the play, or running in a Cross Country meet.
David Cutler
Mr. Cutler is a 2002 graduate of Brimmer and May. He also teaches American History, Latin American History, Government, and Popular Culture in American History. Outside of teaching and writing, he enjoys superheroes, comic books, and spending time with family and friends. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.